Virginia Sheriffs’ Elects Sheriff Ryant L. Washington to Lead

Newport News, Virginia, September 20, 2010 – The members of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association have unanimously elected Sheriff Ryant L. Washington, Fluvanna County, to serve a one-year term as president of the Association. The Virginia Sheriffs’ Association, a 7,700 member organization representing Virginia’s sheriffs and deputies, is the professional trade association representing the interests of law enforcement and the sheriffs’ offices in Virginia.

The Annual Conference of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association held in Newport News, Virginia was attended by 350 sheriffs, deputy sheriffs and special guests from across Virginia. Also represented at the conference were over 80 professional exhibitors displaying the latest crime-fighting equipment. Keynote speakers included key members in the Virginia House of Delegates and the Virginia Senate.

The Virginia Sheriffs’ Association acts as the primary voice for Virginia sheriffs in the General Assembly on all matters relating to public safety. The conference in Newport News, Virginia represents the 77th Annual Conference of the Association

  • Annual Conference

    Annual conference

    Hear leading experts in law enforcement and join in on the fun. Learn More »

Sheriffs' Directory

View Entire Directory