Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs’ Association
The Voice of Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

gabe-morganThe members of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association unanimously elected Newport News Sheriff Gabe Morgan to serve a one-year term as president of the association, an 8,900-member organization representing Virginia’s sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, and sheriff’s office personnel.

Sheriff Morgan has served his county and his community for over 30 years, first in the U.S. Army and now as sheriff in a major Virginia city commanding a staff of nearly 250 employees. For more than a decade he has been an active player on the state level with legislative and budget issues affecting sheriffs.

“I am honored to serve as President of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association and look forward to working with our members, the Governor, and the General Assembly to advance our public safety agenda,” said Sheriff Morgan. “Sheriffs are in many cases the first line of defense. We make the safety of all Virginians our top priority, and our deputies and professional staff provide critical emergency services to the communities in which we serve.”

Since taking office, Sheriff Morgan immediately instituted significant policy changes that support his guiding principles: “Justice for all, service to others, and an abiding love for his community.”

John W. Jones, Executive Director of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association, commented on the significance of Sheriff Morgan’s election given a growing state budget shortfall and an increasingly-difficult climate in which our sheriffs and deputies serve.

“Sheriff Morgan is highly-respected not only with law enforcement officials across the Commonwealth but also among Virginia’s legislative and political leaders,” said Jones. “He will help ensure that the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association remains not only a powerhouse on Capital Square but also the premier public safety advocate in every corner of the Commonwealth.”

Sheriff Morgan served as Second Vice President of the association for the last year. Joining him on the VSA Board of Directors include the following officers:

  • Sheriff Vanessa R. Crawford, City of Petersburg – First Vice President
  • Sheriff Steve F. Dempsey, King George County – Second Vice President
  • Sheriff Timothy C. Carter, Shenandoah County – Secretary
  • Sheriff Darrell W. Warren, Jr., Gloucester County – Treasurer

Approximately 300 sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, and special guests from across Virginia attended the three-day annual conference in Tysons Corner which featured training presentations on a host of issues, including cultural diversity, sovereign citizens, lawful employment practices, protective orders, and state budget updates.

The Virginia Sheriffs’ Association is the professional trade association representing the interests of law enforcement and sheriffs’ offices in Virginia. It is the primary voice for Virginia sheriffs in the General Assembly on all matters relating to public safety.