Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs’ Association
The Voice of Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

VACP Executive Director Dana Schrad recently presented 2017 VACP Awards for Lifesaving to Sheriff Stephan B. Smith, Captain J. Trevor Johnson, and Deputy Charles P. Bowles, IV of the Richmond County Sheriff’s Office for actions in March 2016 that put the deputies in harm’s way in the attempt to save the life of another. Sheriff Smith, Captain Johnson and Deputy Bowles were among the first to respond to a vehicle crash, along with three Virginia State Police troopers — Sr. Trooper Ona B. Moody, Jr., Trooper Joseph P. Hylan and Trooper R. Matthew Reed. The crashed vehicle had burst into flames, and the three occupants of the vehicle were trapped inside. For a full description of events, click HERE.