Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs’ Association
The Voice of Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

Richmond, VA – The Virginia Public Safety Foundation held its 2018 Virginia Public Safety Wreath Laying and Roll Call, honoring members of the public safety community who gave the ultimate sacrifice in service to the Commonwealth.

Those honored and remembered for their bravery included:

  • Deputy Sheriff Curtis A. Bartlett, Carroll County
  • Trooper-Pilot Berke M.M. Bates, Virginia State Police
  • Lieutenant H.J. “Jay” Cullen, III, Virginia State Police
  • Senior Firefighter Kevin Lee Frye, Manassas Fire and Rescue Department
  • Captain Darrell C. Hamlett, Lynchburg Fire Department
  • Firefighter Roger Dale Johns, Eagle Rock Volunteer Fire Department
  • Firefighter/Paramedic Willard C. “Bill” Meiggs, III, Chesapeake Fire Department
  • Special Agent Michael T. Walter, Virginia State Police

The Virginia Sheriffs’ Association joins the VPSF in honoring the bravery of these public safety officials, including our own Deputy Sheriff Curtis A. Bartlett, Carroll County, who lost his life in a line-of-duty vehicle crash just last spring. “We are so grateful for the men and women who put their lives on the line each and every day.” commented John Jones, Executive Director, Virginia Sheriffs’ Association.  “We honor and remember Deputy Sheriff Barlett, Carroll County. And we pray that his family, friends and colleagues may find peace in visiting the Commonwealth Public Safety Memorial.”