Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs’ Association
The Voice of Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

Williamsburg, VA -The members of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association (VSA) unanimously elected Shenandoah County Sheriff Timothy C. Carter to serve a one-year term as president of the Association, an 8,900-member organization representing Virginia’s sheriffs, deputy sheriffs and sheriff’s office personnel.

Sheriff Carter is currently serving his fourth term as Sheriff of Shenandoah County. Prior to serving as Sheriff in 2003, he spent eight years as Chief Deputy with the Shenandoah County Sheriff’s Office. He resides in Maurertown with his wife Karen and daughter Mona.

Majority Leader C. Todd Gilbert, (R), 15th House District, swore in the officers of the 2019-2020 VSA Board of Directors. The 2019-2020 VSA Board of Directors consist of the following sheriffs:

Sheriff Timothy C. Carter, Shenandoah County, President

Sheriff Steve F. Dempsey, King George County, Immediate Past President

Sheriff Beth Arthur, Arlington County, Past President

Sheriff B. J. Roberts, City of Hampton, Past President

Sheriff Steve M. Draper, City of Martinsville, Past President

Sheriff Darrell W. Warren, Jr., Gloucester County, 1st Vice President

Sheriff Kevin W. Hall, Alleghany County, 2nd Vice President

Sheriff Fred S. Clark, Halifax County, Secretary

Sheriff Lenny Millholland, Frederick County, Treasurer

Sheriff B. C. “Chip” Shuler, Smyth County, Region I

Sheriff Donald T. Sloan, City of Lynchburg, Region II

Sheriff J. Eric Orange, Roanoke County, Region III

Sheriff Eric B. Hess, Fluvanna County, Region IV

Sheriff Anthony W. “Tony” Roper, Clarke County, Region V

Sheriff Dana A. Lawhorne, City of Alexandria, Region VI

Sheriff L. Mark Barrick, Mathews County, Region VII

Sheriff Brad W. Nunnally, Powhatan County, Region VIII

Sheriff Wesley W. Reed, Prince Edward County, Region IX

Sheriff Joe Baron, City of Norfolk, Region X