Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs’ Association
The Voice of Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies
The Virginia Sheriffs’ Association Board of Directors extends congratulations to Sheriff April Staton and Sheriff Matthew Ward for their appointment by the VSA Board to the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission. Every May and as additional vacancies arrive during the year, the Board of Directors appoints sheriffs to the Commission after careful consideration of all sheriff requests for appointment and reappointment. At their May meeting, the VSA Board of Directors voted to fill two vacancies by appointing Sheriff Staton and Sheriff Ward each to a three year term beginning June 1, 2023.
The Board has adopted a policy regarding the appointment of members of the Commission.
“In accordance with the authorization in Virginia Code §9.1-102, the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association appoints six sheriffs to the twelve-member Commission, with two positions eligible for reappointment annually. The Board of the VSA shall appoint such sheriffs from among VSA member sheriffs who are accredited by VLEPSC. No sheriff shall serve terms longer than three years and shall be eligible to serve no more than two consecutive terms. Such limits shall be in effect commencing May 1, 2026.”
The VSA Board of Directors would like to express appreciation to Sheriff Stacey Kincaid, Fairfax County, and Sheriff James Clarke, Isle of Wight County, for their previous service on VLEPSC, with their respective service ending on May 31, 2023.