Virginia Sheriffs’ Elections

Sheriffs in Virginia are elected by the public every 4 years.  The city sheriffs’ elections were held November 2, 2021.  Below are the unofficial results of the November 2, 2021 city sheriffs’ elections based on the State Board of Elections website.

Virginia State Board of Elections Website

Sheriff Election Results

2021 Unofficial Sheriffs’ Election Results as Reported by the State Board of Elections

*= incumbent
Bold = winner

Locality Candidates Party
City of Alexandria Sean Casey Democratic
City of Bristol Charles L. “Charlie” Thomas Republican
R. Tyrone Foster Independent
City of Buena Vista W. R. “Randy” Hamilton* Independent
City of Charlottesville James E. Brown, III* Democratic
City of Chesapeake Jim J. O’Sullivan* Republican
City of Colonial Heights Todd B. Wilson* Independent
City of Danville Ril S. Mattison
Michael S. “Mike” Mondul* Independent
City of Emporia D. Keith Prince, Jr.* Independent
City of Falls Church Metin A. “Matt” Cay*
City of Fredericksburg Paul W. Higgs* Independent
City of Hampton Karen E. Bowden* Democratic
City of Hopewell Travis L. Stanley
Steve M. Kephart Jr.* Independent
City of Lynchburg Donald T. “Don”  Sloan* Republican
City of Martinsville Steve M.  Draper* Independent
City of Newport News Gabe A. Morgan* Democratic
City of Norfolk Neil H. Bradley Jr. Republican
Joseph P. “Joe” Baron* Democratic
City of Norton Jason F. McConnell
Mark A. Caruso
City of Petersburg Vanessa R. Crawford* Democratic
City of Portsmouth Stanley L. “Stan” Davis Independent
Michael A. Moore* Democratic
Prince George County Christina L. “Crissy” Woods
Paul W. Burroughs
R. W. “Buck” Vargo
City of Radford Mark R. Armentrout* Republican
City of Richmond Michael R. Dickinson Independent
Antionette V. Irving* Democratic
City of Roanoke Antonio D. Hash Democratic
City of Salem Christopher “Chris” G. Shelor
Richard A. Goodman,SR Democratic
April M. Staton* Independent
City of Staunton Chris M. Hartless
Matt H. Robertson* Republican
City of Suffolk E. C. Harris* Independent
City of Virginia Beach Antonio Passaro Jr. Democratic
Kenneth W. “Ken” Stolle* Republican
City of Waynesboro Christopher Johnson Jr.
Jessie H. Shaver Independent
City of Winchester Les R. Taylor* Republican
Wythe County Charles W. Foster, Jr.* Republican







  • On the line, every day

    On the line, every day

    Support Virginia sheriffs in their mission to protect the Commonwealth. Learn More »

Sheriffs' Directory

View Entire Directory