Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs’ Association
The Voice of Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

The New Kent County Sheriff’s Office was recently recognized with the 2017-2018 Help Eliminate Auto Theft (HEAT) Award for their persistence and dedication in the fight against auto theft.

The Virginia State Police’s annual HEAT Awards recognize law enforcement agencies throughout the Commonwealth for their efforts in combating auto theft.

Agencies must demonstrate excellence in the following categories: enforcement, intelligence gathering, prevention and recovery.

The HEAT program was established in 1992 to educate citizens and law enforcement about theft of vehicles and vehicles parts.

HEAT supports local and state law enforcement through various auto theft prevention efforts. For more information, visit

Sheriff Joe McLaughlin – “We are very proud of the members of this office, who work diligently each day to deter crime and to assist the citizens of our great community. This award is presented to the entire agency for the efforts of each member. ”

In the photo left to right – 1st Thomas Molar VSP, Deputy Nicholas Fico New Kent, Sheriff Joe McLaughlin New Kent, Chief Deputy Lee Bailey New Kent and Captain Norman Gray VSP.