Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs’ Association
The Voice of Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

The members of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association elected new officers for 2023-24 in Virginia Beach during the VSA Fall Conference. The following sheriffs were elected to the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association Board of Directors as officers and board members:

2023-3024 VSA Board of Directors

President: Sheriff L. W. “Lenny” Millholland, Frederick County

Immediate Past President: Sheriff Fred S. Clark, Halifax County

Past President: Sheriff Darrell W. Warren, Jr., Gloucester County

Past President: Sheriff Steve M. Draper, City of Martinsville

Past President: Vanessa R. Crawford, City of Petersburg

First Vice President: Sheriff Brad W. Nunnally, Powhatan County

Second Vice President: Sheriff Antionette V. Irving, City of Richmond

Secretary: Sheriff B.C. “Chip” Shuler, Smyth County

Treasurer: Sheriff Steven N. Creasey, Goochland County

Legislative Committee Chairman: Sheriff Arthur Townsend, Jr., Lunenburg County

2023 – 2024 VSA Regional Directors

Region 1: Sheriff Kevin A. Kemp, Carroll County

Region 11: Sheriff Daniel M. Smith, Patrick County

Region III: Sheriff G. Steve Funkhouser, Rockbridge County

Region IV: Sheriff James E. Brown, III, City of Charlottesville

Region V: Sheriff David P. Decatur, Jr., Stafford County

Region VI: Sheriff Michael L. Chapman, Loudoun County

Region VII: Sheriff John A. Beauchamp, Northumberland County

Region VIII: Sheriff Karl S. Leonard, Chesterfield County

Region IX: Sheriff Carlos Turner, Surry County

Region X: Sheriff Karen E. Bowden, City of Hampton

Sheriff Lenny Millholland

Sheriff Lenny Millholland has been in law enforcement for over 40 years. While in school, Lenny worked for a veterinarian and had all ambitions of becoming one. After graduation, Lenny had numerous opportunities to interact and work with Police K-9s and developed a new passion. With this love, he started working at the Allegany County Sheriff’s in Cumberland, Md. While Lenny had applied for employment with state police agencies in the region, he chose to make a new home in Winchester, VA. He started with the Winchester Police Department in December of 1979. Lenny worked his way through the agency, serving as a Patrol Officer, K-9 handler, and Lieutenant in the Criminal Investigations Division, handling major cases. In 2002, Lenny was elected Winchester City Sheriff and held that position for three 4-year terms before retiring. In 2016 Lenny was elected Frederick County Sheriff, the position he currently holds. Sheriff Lenny Millholland is responsible for 415 square miles and the safety and security for over 84,000 residents. Almost 14,000 of those residents are students enrolled in our school system. These kids are our tomorrow. We MUST keep them safe. Sheriff Lenny Millholland runs a full-service Sheriff’s Office that is made up of Patrol, Criminal Investigations, Civil, and Administrative duties. There are currently 140 sworn personnel, 10 office personnel, and 5 Communications Specialists employed by the Frederick County Sheriff’s Office. In 2018 the agency handled 81,072 calls for service (222 calls per day).